Shawn’s Art Show


   

     If you’re ever on Ellsworth in Shadyside…. take a second to  go in the Mendelson art gallery.  My friend, Shawn Quinlan’s fabric art is on display. I stood on a chair to take this picture. The gallery owner, Steve Mendelson, was so worried I’d fall. I imagined what kind of picture *that* would be…. the perspective would be looking up at a bunch of panicked faces looking down and circled around me.

Click here to see more of the Mendelson Gallery.   or  Click here if you’d like to read more about gallery owner, Steve Mendelson.

   Here we are at the opening night reception.  Shawn is a video editor at Channel Four. We were hired the very same month almost 14 years ago and we became fast friends. I think his work is amazing both at WTAE and his fabric art. Photos don’t do him justice.. you really have to see it in person. 

   I stood out in the rain to take  this picture. I like the reflection of the neon lights on the rain-soaked sidewalk and street. You can see the reception going on in the back room.  Steve Mendelson had just gotten back from a two week trip to Beijing, China and had some amazing stuff. There’s a mirror that has a laser so when you look into it, a ghost-like little girl appears along with your reflection and she start putting on lipstick. It’s cool and creepy!  I told him it would give me nightmares.  He also had some other unusual pieces. One was rice art in a large frame… but when you turn it on, underneath you can see moving lighted figures running over rocks and behind a tree. When it’s off, it’s a beautiful conservative piece of art… and then you can make it into something much more modern when you flip a switch. There’s another one like it that involves an antique Chinese map.

     Here, Shawn is showing his work to my neighbors who joined me for the show. His art is edgy, controversial, and is sure to encourage conversation.

     Shawn’s work will also be in the Andy Warhol Museum as part of the 98th annual exhibition of the Associated Artists of Pittsburgh August 1st – September 14th.

     As part of that show jurors give out big awards at the opening night reception July 31st…. so keep your fingers crossed for Shawn!