Behind the Scenes of Promo Shoot

Every once in a while we spend a good chunk of the day on an Action News promo shoot.  And today’s shoot was full of ACTION!  We were excited to bring in a special crew with special lights and even a makeup artist to get it all done.  While all of the promo madness had overtaken the newsroom, I snapped a few photos to give you an idea of how it went.

First, we have an amazing makeup artist that you have to meet! This is Cheryl Haus and she’s fabulous.  F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S!  I wish she could join us every morning to help hide how tired we are since our show starts at 4:30AM! Not only is Cheryl a master of transformation,  she is the sweetest and most genuine person you’ll find.  Click here to check out her website. I just adore her!  Here she is touching up Kelly’s makeup before the cameras started rolling.

Here is the view I had of director Mark Fallone and crew as I was preparing for my part. There are dozens of extra people in the newsroom for this whole thing….. and the entire time producers, photographers, editors and assignment managers are rushing around trying to prepare for the real news that’s happening!   But this time, all of the people normally behind the camera had to be in front of the camera.  I’m so glad you’ll get to see some of the wonderful and hard-working people that do a great job every day at WTAE!

Here is 5:00PM producer Tom West getting a little powder on his face while he’s actually trying to work!  A huge thank you to all of my coworkers who were real troopers getting through all of this!

You can imagine all of the extra equipment and cords all over the place which made navigating through the newsroom a real challenge. I was so worried that I was going to wipeout while trying to walk and talk while I was on camera since I couldn’t look down. Fortunately, that didn’t happen today but we have to do all of this again tomorrow so hopefully I won’t embarrass myself tomorrow because if I do– the cameras will be rolling to capture it all! 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

