Guest Teaching

I wanted to say thanks to blog reader, Robin, who suggested a cool story for me to cover. I shot that story yesterday… and got to meet Robin… and you’ll see it in a few weeks on Action News.  So thanks for the suggestion and if any of you have ideas for stories please write me a quick note. The email form is on the right side of this page.  All emails come directly to my private email so don’t worry, they won’t show up on this blog.  Or you can always just email me at: mwright@hearst.com.

Last night I had a great time speaking to a University of Pittsburgh class on marketing and public relations.  My dear friend, Sue…. public relations genius…. is teaching and doing a great job.  She wanted me to share how stories make it on the newscast and to describe the various positions in the news department.  We also talked about social media… blogs, Facebook and Twitter… and how its changing the scope of how reporters do their jobs.  I explained to them when I started this blog several years ago I did it because my boss forced me.  I barely knew what a blog was.  I had no idea what to write and was frustrated at the thought.   I started by making fun of what was going on behind the scenes of the newsroom.  But then I started writing about some stories I was covering…. fun trips I was taking…. showing off how hard the photographers worked… then I started including some of the charity events which I would emcee which was so rewarding. Then I started getting feedback from you. How cool!

Blogging is now something I look forward to doing.  It is so nice getting to know the people who are watching the newscast.  I just wanted to say even though I was reluctant to do this…  it is now a joy and I wish I had more time to put into blogging ( but the news deadline is constantly ticking down and I run out of time.)    So know that you’ve made this blogger appreciate how the news is changing and how it’s now possible to have a two way conversation with viewers…. something I never thought would be this easy way back when I was in college.

